Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation
Nebraska Library Commission Overview

Nebraska Library Commission Overview

The Nebraska Library Commission was created in 1901 and is part of the executive branch of state government. Per state statute, the Commission is responsible for the statewide promotion, development and coordination of library services. In fulfilling these functions the Commission works with all types of libraries – public, school, college and university, special and institutional libraries. Some of the Commission’s services are provided directly to the public and to state government personnel.

The Library Commission is governed by a six-member board. Commission members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms. The Commission director is appointed by the six-member Commission. The director is responsible for agency administration and works with Commission staff to carry out programs and services.

The Library Commission, as the state library agency, administers the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) state program in Nebraska. LSTA funds support Library Commission programs and services that address LSTA program purposes and priorities.

The Commission’s primary services include:

  • Administrative Services / Information Technology / Communication
  • Planning and Data Services
  • Reference and Information Services
  • Government Information Services – Nebraska Publications Clearinghouse
  • Technology and Access Services
    • NebraskAccess
    • Nebraska Memories
    • Technology Innovation
  • Talking Book and Braille Services (TBBS)
  • Library Development
    • Continuing Education and Training
    • Youth Services
    • Librarian and Board Certification
    • Library Accreditation


The Library Commission is the host organization for the Nebraska Center for the Book (NCB), a state affiliate of the Center for the Book at the Library of Congress.

For more information, contact Rod Wagner.